Latest News

The CABV/ACVP Executive Board is Accepting Nominations for the 2024 Brian MacNaughton Memorial Award

Sponsored by Elanco

This award is in memory of Dr. Brian MacNaughton, an outstanding bovine veterinarian from Ontario who many years ago, had the vision of a national bovine veterinary organization that would represent the interests of bovine veterinarians in matters of a national scope. He recognized that the four regional bovine associations were strong and effective at the regional level and that they provided excellent continuing education for their members. He understood however that a national voice would be beneficial for bovine veterinarians and their profession, for the dairy and beef cattle industries, and for associated agribusinesses.

Dr. MacNaughton was extensively involved in veterinary affairs and served a term as President of the Ontario Association of Bovine Practitioners (OABP). His term on the Executive of the OABP expired before he could see his vision become a reality in the birth of the Canadian Association of Bovine Veterinarians (CABV)/Association Canadienne des Veterinaires Bovins (ACVB). Since its inception, he was very proud of the accomplishments of CABV/ACVB, and of its maturation into a strong, respected and influential veterinary organization.

Dr. Brian MacNaughton passed away in September of 2014 after a courageous battle with cancer, and so can no longer personally witness the growth and development of the CABV/ACVB. This award is designed to recognize and commemorate his vision, his spirit, and his passion.


The veterinarian must be a member in good standing with their respective association, or if retired, to have been a member in good standing at the time of retirement. By this award, the CABV/ACVB is attempting to honour, or recognize, a veterinarian who has made significant contributions to CABV/ACVB and/or had a major contribution to organized bovine veterinary medicine in Canada at the national level. The award will be offered in a biannual basis (2024,2026,2028..), or less if there are no suitable candidates.

Nomination Procedure:

Each nomination must include:

-A completed nomination form

-A copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae/resume

-A detailed letter of nomination, which describes how the nominee has met the award criteria

Selection process:

Nominations are due June 1, 2024. The CABV/ACVB Executive Board selects the recipient of the Brian MacNaughton Award.

The Award will include a commemorative plaque presented at the annual general meeting of either CABV/ACVB or the recipient's regional bovine association (recipient's choice). Elanco will present the recipient with a plaque and monetary prize. These award monies are intended to help reimburse the recipient's expenses for travel, convention and accommodation expenses.

Click here for the Nomination Form

CABV/ACVB in conjunction with Boehringer Ingelheim are pleased to once again announce the Metacam® 20 Bovine Welfare Award. This award will recognize the achievements in advancing the welfare of animals via leadership, public service, education, research/product development, and/or advocacy by a DVM or animal scientists working in Canada, a faculty member or graduate student of a Canadian University.
The deadline for submission of nomination is May 31, 2024. Please click here to get more information. Get the nomination form here