News & Information

Dr. Karen Orsel

September 24, 2020 - Dr. Karin Orsel of Calgary, Alberta has been named recipient of the 2020 Metacam® 20 Bovine Welfare Award. The Metacam® 20 Bovine Welfare Award is presented annually by the Canadian Association of Bovine Veterinarians (CABV) / Association Canadienne des Veterinaires Bovins (ACVB) in partnership with Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health. View more...

Left to Right:  Dr. Carmen Millham (nominator), Dr. Richard Krauss (recipient), Dr. Tim Nickel (Boehringer Ingelheim)

This year’s recipient of the Boehringer Ingelheim WCABP Veterinarian of the Year award is Dr. Richard Krauss from Preeceville, SK.  

Dr. Krauss has practiced veterinary medicine for over 50 years.  He graduated in the first WCVM class of 1969.  Before starting his practice in Preeceville, he worked in Ogema, Burnaby, and Weyburn.  He has practiced veterinary medicine in Preeceville, SK for the last 48 years.  The focus of his practice has been on bovine medicine and surgery.  

Over the years, Dr. Krauss has had a dozen associates, 8 veterinary technicians and has mentored approximately 25 students.  He has always been very passionate about veterinary medicine; more specifically bovine practice. 

His knowledge and enthusiasm for veterinary practice, in particular bovine practice, is remarkable.  He has a grassroots approach to cattle and bovine practice which allows him to communicate with his colleagues, students and producers.  He is tremendously respected in the region as a wealth of knowledge and compassion.  Over the last 50 years, as the beef industry grew, expanded, and matured Dr. Krauss has educated, supported, and nurtured his clients and the region’s industry.  He was a major contributor in the expansion of the cattle industry in north-eastern Saskatchewan.  He worked with other sectors of the industry to pull all the resources together to support his clients’ cattle operations.  Dr. Krauss’ family also had a large cow herd for many years.

In summary, Dr. Krauss is worthy of the Boehringer Ingelheim/WCABP Veterinarian of the Year.  He has dedicated his life to veterinary medicine, in particular bovine practice, the cattle industry, his community, while supporting his family and is very deserving of this Award.

Congratulations Richard on being named the 2020 Boehringer Ingelheim / WCABP Veterinarian of the Year!

Dr. André Desrochers with Dr. Anne-Claire Brisville  (Boehringer-Ingelheim Canada Ltd.)

St. Louis, Missouri, September 12, 2019 - The Canadian Association of Bovine Veterinarians (CABV) / Association Canadienne des Veterinaires Bovins (ACVB) in partnership with Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health have named Dr. André Desrochers of Saint-Hyacinthe, Quebec as the recipient of the 2019 Metacam® 20 Bovine Welfare more.

WCABP is pleased to announce the inaugural WCABP '10 and Under' Conference. This conference is targeted at veterinarians who graduated within the last 10 years (2009 through 2019), and has been modelled after AABP's Recent Graduate Conference which has occurred the past 2 years in the U.S.

For a variety of reasons, recent graduates involved with bovine medicine are sometimes not afforded the opportunity to take advantage of WCABP's Annual Conference, and therefore miss out on valuable bovine-oriented continuing education and networking opportunities. In response to a demand from this demographic, WCABP will pilot its first "10 and Under" Conference in Edmonton, AB on October 4-5, 2019. The chosen venue is The Fantasyland Hotel as this was where the inaugural meeting to form WCABP occurred over 25 years ago! We also thought it would provide registrants with the opportunity for a little R&R!

This conference has an impressive 10 hours of first-rate continuing education, designed specifically for western Canadian veterinarians who graduated in the past 10 years (2009 through 2019) and have a special interest in cattle practice. Undergraduates are encouraged to attend as well.

Mark your calendar now to be in Edmonton on Friday (afternoon) and Saturday, October 4 and 5, 2019.

View further details in the Event section!

Left to Right: Dr. Wayne Sereda (nominator), Dr. Steve Radostits (recipient), Dr. Robert Tremblay (Boehringer Ingelheim)

This year’s recipient of the Boehringer Ingelheim WCABP Veterinarian of the Year award is Dr. Steve Radostits from Leduc, AB.

Dr. Radostits graduated from WCVM in 1988 and has spent his entire career practicing at the Farm Animal Hospital in Leduc, AB. Steve has always been a very progressive and dedicated veterinarian as well as a dedicated and devoted husband and father. He and his wife Robin have raised four sons.

Steve inherited a number of qualities from his father, Dr. Otto M. Radostits; his positive attitude, his skill as a diagnostician, his talent as a mentor and teacher, his desire to learn and his drive to resolve every problem or question put to him. He also inherited certain qualities from his mother, such as his quiet and thoughtful demeanor, his communication skills, and his gift for dispute resolution.

Steve has also made time for family, community and his church. Professionally Steve has been involved in many areas of veterinary medicine such as: WCABP, AABP, Herd Health program at the U of A dairy barn, guest lecturer at the U of A Faculty of Agriculture, active in the local 4-H as a guest speaker and a sponsor, advisory committee for the Western Canadian Dairy Seminar and has participated in several steering committees at the request of pharmaceutical companies.

Dr. Radostits is an outstanding example of a veterinarian that has made a difference to the cattle industry in Western Canada and is a very deserving recipient of the WCABP Veterinarian of the Year award.

Congratulations Steve on being named the 2019 Boehringer Ingelheim / WCABP Veterinarian of the Year!

Page 2 of 8