News & Information

WCABP's Bylaws indicate that an Honorary Life Membership may be awarded to an individual who is 65 years of age and has made an Outstanding contribution to either the affairs of the Association or veterinary profession. Members nominate a potential recipient by forwarding a letter which outlines the nominee's achievements and why the person is worthy of an Honorary Life membership. This must then be passed by two-thirds (2/3) majority vote at the AGM.

Elanco Canada honours Dr. Frank Schenkels with the second Dr. Brian MacNaughton Memorial Award, recognizing his outstanding contributions to bovine veterinary medicine in Canada.
"We are pleased to recognize Dr. Schenkels for his contributions to the field of bovine veterinary medicine", said Michelle McCotter, General Manager of Elanco Canada. "Dr. Schenkels is renowned for his enthusiasm and implication in the veterinary profession and the dairy industry as a whole, and truly embodies the spirit and purpose of the Dr. Brian MacNaughton Memorial Award."  Read more

Dr. Karen Orsel

September 24, 2020 - Dr. Karin Orsel of Calgary, Alberta has been named recipient of the 2020 Metacam® 20 Bovine Welfare Award. The Metacam® 20 Bovine Welfare Award is presented annually by the Canadian Association of Bovine Veterinarians (CABV) / Association Canadienne des Veterinaires Bovins (ACVB) in partnership with Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health. View more...

Left to Right:  Dr. Carmen Millham (nominator), Dr. Richard Krauss (recipient), Dr. Tim Nickel (Boehringer Ingelheim)

This year’s recipient of the Boehringer Ingelheim WCABP Veterinarian of the Year award is Dr. Richard Krauss from Preeceville, SK.  

Dr. Krauss has practiced veterinary medicine for over 50 years.  He graduated in the first WCVM class of 1969.  Before starting his practice in Preeceville, he worked in Ogema, Burnaby, and Weyburn.  He has practiced veterinary medicine in Preeceville, SK for the last 48 years.  The focus of his practice has been on bovine medicine and surgery.  

Over the years, Dr. Krauss has had a dozen associates, 8 veterinary technicians and has mentored approximately 25 students.  He has always been very passionate about veterinary medicine; more specifically bovine practice. 

His knowledge and enthusiasm for veterinary practice, in particular bovine practice, is remarkable.  He has a grassroots approach to cattle and bovine practice which allows him to communicate with his colleagues, students and producers.  He is tremendously respected in the region as a wealth of knowledge and compassion.  Over the last 50 years, as the beef industry grew, expanded, and matured Dr. Krauss has educated, supported, and nurtured his clients and the region’s industry.  He was a major contributor in the expansion of the cattle industry in north-eastern Saskatchewan.  He worked with other sectors of the industry to pull all the resources together to support his clients’ cattle operations.  Dr. Krauss’ family also had a large cow herd for many years.

In summary, Dr. Krauss is worthy of the Boehringer Ingelheim/WCABP Veterinarian of the Year.  He has dedicated his life to veterinary medicine, in particular bovine practice, the cattle industry, his community, while supporting his family and is very deserving of this Award.

Congratulations Richard on being named the 2020 Boehringer Ingelheim / WCABP Veterinarian of the Year!

Dr. André Desrochers with Dr. Anne-Claire Brisville  (Boehringer-Ingelheim Canada Ltd.)

St. Louis, Missouri, September 12, 2019 - The Canadian Association of Bovine Veterinarians (CABV) / Association Canadienne des Veterinaires Bovins (ACVB) in partnership with Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health have named Dr. André Desrochers of Saint-Hyacinthe, Quebec as the recipient of the 2019 Metacam® 20 Bovine Welfare more.

Page 2 of 8