News & Information

Dr. André Desrochers with Dr. Anne-Claire Brisville  (Boehringer-Ingelheim Canada Ltd.)

St. Louis, Missouri, September 12, 2019 - The Canadian Association of Bovine Veterinarians (CABV) / Association Canadienne des Veterinaires Bovins (ACVB) in partnership with Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health have named Dr. André Desrochers of Saint-Hyacinthe, Quebec as the recipient of the 2019 Metacam® 20 Bovine Welfare more.

Nominate a veterinarian to receive the Boehringer Ingelheim 2020 WCABP Veterinarian of the Year Award in recognition of his/her outstanding contributions in the field of bovine medicine in Western Canada.

Download (PDF) Nomination Form here

WCABP / Merck Animal Health Student Case Report / Research Presentation Competition

This is a student competition, taking place at the January 2020 WCABP Conference, to encourage development of scientific inquiry methods and communication abilities. Click here to read information on requirements and how to apply. Application deadline is November 1, 2019.

WCABP is pleased to announce the inaugural WCABP '10 and Under' Conference. This conference is targeted at veterinarians who graduated within the last 10 years (2009 through 2019), and has been modelled after AABP's Recent Graduate Conference which has occurred the past 2 years in the U.S.

For a variety of reasons, recent graduates involved with bovine medicine are sometimes not afforded the opportunity to take advantage of WCABP's Annual Conference, and therefore miss out on valuable bovine-oriented continuing education and networking opportunities. In response to a demand from this demographic, WCABP will pilot its first "10 and Under" Conference in Edmonton, AB on October 4-5, 2019. The chosen venue is The Fantasyland Hotel as this was where the inaugural meeting to form WCABP occurred over 25 years ago! We also thought it would provide registrants with the opportunity for a little R&R!

This conference has an impressive 10 hours of first-rate continuing education, designed specifically for western Canadian veterinarians who graduated in the past 10 years (2009 through 2019) and have a special interest in cattle practice. Undergraduates are encouraged to attend as well.

Mark your calendar now to be in Edmonton on Friday (afternoon) and Saturday, October 4 and 5, 2019.

View further details in the Event section!

Left to Right: Dr. Wayne Sereda (nominator), Dr. Steve Radostits (recipient), Dr. Robert Tremblay (Boehringer Ingelheim)

This year’s recipient of the Boehringer Ingelheim WCABP Veterinarian of the Year award is Dr. Steve Radostits from Leduc, AB.

Dr. Radostits graduated from WCVM in 1988 and has spent his entire career practicing at the Farm Animal Hospital in Leduc, AB. Steve has always been a very progressive and dedicated veterinarian as well as a dedicated and devoted husband and father. He and his wife Robin have raised four sons.

Steve inherited a number of qualities from his father, Dr. Otto M. Radostits; his positive attitude, his skill as a diagnostician, his talent as a mentor and teacher, his desire to learn and his drive to resolve every problem or question put to him. He also inherited certain qualities from his mother, such as his quiet and thoughtful demeanor, his communication skills, and his gift for dispute resolution.

Steve has also made time for family, community and his church. Professionally Steve has been involved in many areas of veterinary medicine such as: WCABP, AABP, Herd Health program at the U of A dairy barn, guest lecturer at the U of A Faculty of Agriculture, active in the local 4-H as a guest speaker and a sponsor, advisory committee for the Western Canadian Dairy Seminar and has participated in several steering committees at the request of pharmaceutical companies.

Dr. Radostits is an outstanding example of a veterinarian that has made a difference to the cattle industry in Western Canada and is a very deserving recipient of the WCABP Veterinarian of the Year award.

Congratulations Steve on being named the 2019 Boehringer Ingelheim / WCABP Veterinarian of the Year!

Page 1 of 8